Welcome to the website of GAC GmbH!

We would like to give you a general picture of the company in the following pages.

News

The investment volume of the life insurance companies fell by more than ten billion euros to around 1.03 trillion at book value in 2023. Market values recovered slightly, allowing hidden losses to be reduced by more than a quarter. The investment volume of unit-linked contracts rose to a new all-time high of a good 180 billion euros. Although direct bond investments have become more important again, the overall bond ratio has fallen slightly to around 77%. While the equity exposure was reduced by almost a sixth (ratio 4%), real estate (8%) and alternatives (10%) continued to increase slightly. At around 2.2%, net interest was roughly on a par with the previous year. The market value yield reached an average of around 6% (previous year -21%). 

News

In 2023, two run-off transactions were prepared through the spin-off of insurance portfolios: Almost EUR 15 billion in investments were spun off from AXA LV AG to Ager LV AG, while Zurich LV AG transferred almost EUR 20 billion to Zurich Life Legacy Versicherung AG. While Ager LV AG is to be taken over by the Athora Group in 2024, BaFin has halted the takeover of the Zurich portfolio by the Viridium Group. As run-off companies usually focus strongly on interest-bearing investments, illiquid investments in particular usually remain with the original company. This can result in a significant shift in asset allocation. For example, the proportion of alternatives at AXA LV AG has almost doubled to over 10%. As almost three quarters of the investments were transferred in the Zurich transaction, the real estate quota of Zurich LV AG has increased to over 30%. According to the annual report, the company intends to pay particular attention to reducing the ratio, while the equity ratio has already been almost completely reduced.

News

With interest rates falling slightly, the balance sheet pension obligations of all DAX/MDAX companies in 2023 grew slightly faster than the plan assets provided to finance them. As a result, the funding ratio at the end of 2023 is capital-weighted at just over 77%, almost one percent lower than at the end of the previous year. With plan assets of just under EUR 300 billion, an average return of 6-7% was achieved in 2023. At the end of the year, almost 50% of the assets were invested in bonds and around 21% in equities. Real estate and alternatives accounted for around 7% and 8% respectively. The remainder is invested in insurance solutions, derivatives, liquidity and other investments.

News

Since 2004, the capital stock of all 92 pension funds for the liberal professions has tripled to 270 billion euros. In the course of the rise in interest rates in 2022/23, the reduction in bond investments has slowed down and direct investments are once again gaining in importance. At the end of 2022, the total bond ratio was around 40%, a good half of which was in direct investments. The equity allocation decreased significantly to around 17%, while real estate (23%) and alternatives (18%) were further expanded. The net interest rate fell below 3% on average, with values between minus and plus 5% being observed. Examples of market value returns ranged between -7% and -1%.

News

At around EUR 5 billion, the investment volume of "Pensionskassen" grew significantly more slowly in 2022 than in previous years. Market values even fell well below EUR 200 billion. The long-lasting transition phase of declining direct bond investments reversed in 2022 in the wake of rising interest rates, with the ratio rising slightly again for the first time (chart). However, real estate (13%) and alternatives (10%) in particular were further expanded, while the equity ratio fell slightly to just over 10%. While the "Nettoverzinsung" fell significantly to just over 2% in 2022, the market value return was in the negative double-digit range with an enormous spread of -43% to + 1.5%.

     Life Insurance Companies: A quarter of a trillion less

     KVU: Decreasing bond and equity quota

     Highly dispersed investment results 2022

     CH: More than 1,000 pension funds manage over one trillion CHF

     Corporates: Coverage ratio rises despite lower investment return than in 2008

     Volume of Depot A securities remains at 530 billion euros in 2022

     Pension funds for liberal professions with 4% net return and almost 40% illiquid assets

     Pension funds continue to grow strongly

     Pensionskassen - Investment volume grows by more than eight billion euros

     LVU 2021 with negative market value yield, AA slowly becomes more colorful

     380 billion euros with increasingly shares, real estate and alternatives

      Corporates - Coverage ratio increases significantly

     Depot A - Funds volume at record level

     Pension Funds for liberal Professions: 45% Bonds, 18% Equities, 35% Real Estate/Alternatives

     GAC with the largest investors in Private Banking Magazine

     LI in pandemic year with 5.6% return, less equities and more real estate / alternatives

     DAX/MDAX: 5% return on plan assets of 340 billion euros

     Savings banks and cooperative banks increase special funds volume by almost 12 billion euros

     Pension funds for liberal professions: less than half fixed-income, one-third illiquid assets

     GAC in dpn: The 100 largest investors in Germany

     Pensionskassen with higher ratios for equities, real estates and alternatives

     Savings banks with significantly increased real estate investments

     Life insurance companies with very good performance 2019

     GAC in dpn: DAX/MDAX - Pension obligations and assets at the all-time high

     With God’s blessing – Church investors manage investments of over 100 billion euros

     GAC in TiAM: Company Pension Funds and Pension Funds for Liberal Professions

     GAC on the largest Depot A investors in dpn

     GAC in dpn: The largest insurance companies in the DACH region

     GAC in dpn: Asset Allocation fo pensions funds in Switzerland

     GAC with update 2019 on asset allocation and performance of life insurance companies

     GAC in IPE yearbook 2018: Equities- and real estates-exposure of 250 institutional investors

     GAC with ranking of the largest institutional investors on

     GAC discusses investments by churches in dpn-online

     GAC appears in dpn-online discussing investments by social security funds

     GAC with an update to pension funds of liberal professions (dpn)

     GAC appears in IPE addressing the structure and performance of proprietary securities account (Depot A)

     GAC in dpn: The 30 largest foundations in Germany

     GAC discusses institutional investors in sweden

     GAC discusses transition of the asset allocation (dpn)

     GAC appears in the IPE yerabook addressing asset allocation and performance of corporates

     GAC in Absolut Report: Asset Allocation and Performance of Company Pension Funds

     GAC in Absolut Report: Asset Allocation and Performance of Pension Funds of Liberal Professions

Herzlich willkommen auf der Homepage der GAC GmbH!

Gerne geben wir Ihnen auf den Folgeseiten einen ersten Überblick über das Unternehmen.

News

Die Kapitalanlagen der Lebensversicherer sind 2023 zu Buchwerten um mehr als zehn Mrd. Euro auf rund 1,03 Billionen gesunken. Die Marktwerte konnten sich erholen, so dass die stillen Lasten um mehr als ein Viertel abgebaut werden konnten. Das Anlagevolumen der fondsgebunden Verträge ist auf ein neues Allzeithoch von gut 180 Mrd. Euro angestiegen. Obwohl die Rentendirektanlage wieder an Bedeutung gewonnen hat, ist die Rentenquote insgesamt weiter leicht auf rund 77% gesunken. Während das Aktienexposure um fast ein Sechstel abgebaut wurde (Quote gut 4%) haben Immobilien (8%) und Alternatives (10%) weiter leicht zulegen können. Die Nettoverzinsung lag mit rund 2,2% in etwa auf Vorjahresniveau. Die Marktwertrendite erreichte im Mittel einen Wert von rund 6% (Vorjahr -21%). 

News

2023 wurden durch Abspaltung von Beständen zwei Run Off-Transaktionen vorbereitet: Aus der AXA LV AG wurden fast 15 Mrd. Euro Kapitalanlagen in die Ager LV AG ausgegliedert, die Zurich LV AG hat fast 20 Mrd. Euro auf die Zurich Life Legacy Versicherung AG übertragen. Während die Ager LV AG 2024 durch die Athora-Gruppe übernommen werden soll, hat die BaFin die Übernahme des Zurich-Bestandes durch die Viridium-Gruppe gestoppt. Da Run Off-Gesellschaften ihren Fokus meist stark auf Zinsanlagen richten, verbleiben insbesondere illiquide Anlagen meist bei der ursprünglichen Gesellschaft. Hierdurch kann sich die Asset Allocation erheblich verschieben. So hat sich die Quote für Alternatives bei der AXA LV AG auf über 10% fast verdoppelt. Da bei der Zurich-Transaktion fast drei Viertel der Kapitalanlagen übertragen wurden, hat sich die Immobilienquote der Zurich LV AG auf über 30% erhöht. Die Gesellschaft will laut Geschäftsbericht ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die Absenkung der Quote richten, während die Aktienquote bereits nahezu komplett zurückgefahren wurde.

News

Bei leicht sinkenden Zinsen sind die bilanziellen Pensionsverpflichtungen aller DAX-/MDAX-Unternehmen 2023 mit über 5% etwas schneller gewachsen als das zu ihrer Finanzierung bereitgestellte Planvermögen. Der Ausfinanzierungsgrad ist dadurch Ende 2023 kapital-gewichtet mit gut 77% knapp ein Prozent niedriger als zum Vorjahresende. Mit dem Plan-vermögenon von knapp 300 Mrd. Euro wurde 2023 im Schnitt eine Rendite von 6-7% erzielt. Das Vermögen war zum Jahresende zu knapp 50% in Renten und rund 21% in Aktien investiert. Immobilien und Alternatives machen rund 7% bzw. 8% aus. Der Rest ist in Versicherungs-lösungen, Derivaten, Liquidität und sonstigen Anlagen investiert.

News

Seit 2004 hat sich der Kapitalstock aller 92 Versorgungswerke auf 270 Mrd. Euro verdreifacht. Im Zuge des Zinsanstiegs 2022/23 hat sich der Abbau der Rentenanlagen verlangsamt und die Direktanlage gewinnt wieder an Bedeutung. Ende 2022 betrug die gesamte Rentenquote rund 40%, gut die Hälfte davon in der Direktanlage. Die Aktienquote hat deutlich auf rund 17% abgenommen, während Immobilien (23%) und Alternatives (18%) weiter ausgebaut wurden. Die Nettoverzinsung sank im Mittel unter 3%, wobei Werte zwischen minus und plus 5% beobachtet werden konnten. Für die Marktwertrendite konnten beispielhaft Werte zwischen -7% und -1% ermittelt werden.

News

Das Kapitalanlagevolumen der Pensionskassen ist 2022 mit rund 5 Mrd. Euro deutlich langsamer gewachsen als in den Vorjahren. Die Marktwerte sind sogar deutlich unter 200 Mrd. Euro gesunken. Die lang anhaltende Transitionsphase abnehmender Rentendirektanlagen hat sich 2022 im Zuge steigender Zinsen gedreht, erstmals ist die Quote wieder leicht angestiegen (Grafik). Weiter ausgebaut wurden aber vor allem von den Betriebs-Pensionskassen Immobilien (13%) und Alternatives (10%), während die Aktienquote leicht auf gut 10% abgenommen hat. Während die Nettoverzinsung 2022 deutlich auf gut 2% gesunken ist, lag die Marktwertrendite im negativen zweistelligen Bereich mit einer enormen Spannweite von -43% bis + 1,5%.

     LVU: Eine Viertelbillion weniger

     KVU: Abnehmende Renten- und Aktienquote, historisch niedrige MWR

     Stark streuende Anlageergebnisse 2022

     CH: Mehr als 1.000 Pensionskassen verwalten über eine Billion CHF

     Corporates: Ausfinanzierung steigt 2022 trotz schwächerer Anlagerendite als 2008

     Depot A-Wertpapiervolumen verbleibt 2022 bei 530 Mrd. Euro

     Versorgungswerke mit mehr als 4% Nettoverzinsung und fast 40% illiquiden Assets

     Pensionsfonds wachsen weiter stark

     Pensionskassen - Anlagevolumen wächst um mehr als acht Mrd. Euro

     LVU 2021 mit negativer Marktwertrendite, AA wird langsam bunter

     KVU: 380 Milliarden Euro mit zunehmend Aktien, Immobilien und Alternatives

     Corporates - Deckungsgrad springt 2021 sprunghaft an

     Depot A - Spezialfondsvolumen auf Rekordniveau

     Versorgungswerke: Nettoverzinsung sinkt auf gut 3%, 18% Aktien, 35% Immobilien/Alternatives

     GAC mit den 50 größten Investoren im Private Banking Magazin

     LV im Pandemiejahr mit 5,6% Rendite, weniger Aktien und mehr Immobilien / Alternatives

     DAX/MDAX: 5% Rendite auf 340 Mrd. Euro Planvermögen

     Sparkassen und GenoBanken steigern Spezialfondsvolumen um fast 12 Mrd. Euro

     Versorgungswerke: Weniger als die Hälfte festverzinsliche, ein Drittel illiquide Assets

     GAC in dpn: Die größten 100 Kapitalsammelstellen in Deutschland

     Pensionskassen mit höherer Aktien-, Immobilien- und Alternatives-Quote

     Sparkassen mit deutlich erhöhten Immobilieninvestments

     Lebensversicherungen mit sehr guter Performance 2019

     GAC in dpn: DAX/MDAX - Pensionsverpflichtungen und Planvermögen auf Rekordhoch

     GAC in dpn: Kirchliche Investoren verwalten Kapitalanlagen von mehr als 100 Milliarden Euro

     GAC in TiAM: Pensionskassen und Versorgungswerke

     GAC zu den größten Depot A-Investoren in dpn

     GAC in dpn: Die größten Versicherungsunternehmen in der DACH-Region

     GAC in dpn: Asset Allocation von Pensionskassen in der Schweiz

     GAC mit Update zu Asset Allocation und Performance von Lebensversicherungsunternehmen

     GAC im IPE-Jahrbuch 2018: Aktien- und Immobilienexposure von 250 Kapitalsammelstellen

     GAC mit Ranking der größten Kapitalsammelstellen auf "Institutional Money"

     GAC auf dpn-online: Investments der deutschen Bistümer

     GAC auf dpn-online über Kapitalanlage der Sozialversicherungsträger

     GAC mit update zu Versorgungswerke auf dpn

     GAC in IPE: Struktur und Performance von Depot A-Investoren

     GAC in dpn: Die 30 größten Stiftungen in Deutschland

     GAC zu institutionellen Investoren in Schweden auf dpn-online

     GAC in dpn: Asset Allocation im Wandel

     GAC mit Asset Allocation und Performance von Corporates im IPE Yearbook

     GAC in Absolut Report: Asset Allocation und Performance von Pensionskassen

     GAC in Absolut Report: Asset Allocation und Performance von Versorgungswerken